UNF's #1 Student-Run News Source

UNF Spinnaker

UNF's #1 Student-Run News Source

UNF Spinnaker

UNF's #1 Student-Run News Source

UNF Spinnaker

A minute-by-minute look back at election night

clinton-trumpNews outlets began announcing that Donald Trump won the presidency early this morning, around 2:30 a.m. For those who went to sleep at a reasonable hour last night and missed the excitement, here’s a timeline of events, so you all the major things that happened.

All information is according to the Associated Press.

6:59 p.m. — Clinton wins Vermont (3 electoral votes).

6:59 p.m. — Trump wins Indiana (11) and Kentucky (8).

7 p.m. — Florida polls closed.

7:12 p.m. — John Rutherford (R) elected to U.S. House of Reps in Florida, 4th congressional district.

7:24 p.m. — Al Lawson (D) elected to U.S. House of Reps in Florida, 5th congressional district.

7:30 p.m. — Trump wins West Virginia (5).

8 p.m. — Clinton wins Massachusetts (11), New Jersey (14), Maryland (10), District of Columbia (3) and Delaware (3).

8 p.m. — Trump wins Oklahoma (7).

8:05 p.m. — Marco Rubio (R) re-elected to U.S. Senate in Florida.

8:09 p.m. — Trump wins South Carolina (9).

8:15 p.m. — Trump wins Tennessee (11).

8:26 p.m. — Trump wins Alabama (9).

8:32 p.m. — Charlie Crist (D) elected to U.S. House of Reps in Florida, 13th congressional district.

8:40 p.m. — Clinton wins Rhode Island (4).

8:52 p.m. — Trump wins Mississippi (6).

9 p.m. — Clinton wins Illinois (20).

9:01 p.m. — Trump wins North Dakota (3), South Dakota (3), Wyoming (3), Kansas (6)and Texas (38).

9:01 p.m. — Clinton wins New York (29).

USmap_39:08 p.m. — Trump wins Arkansas (6).

9:26 p.m. — Clinton wins Connecticut (7).

9:30 p.m. — Trump wins Louisiana (8).

10 p.m. — Trump wins Montana (3).

10:21 p.m. — Clinton wins New Mexico (5).

10:25 p.m. — Trump wins Missouri (10).

10:36 p.m. — Trump wins Ohio (18).

10:40 p.m. — Clinton wins Virginia (13).

10:43 p.m. — Clinton wins Colorado (9).

10:50 p.m. — Trump wins Florida (29).

11 p.m. — Clinton wins California (55) and Hawaii (4).

11 p.m. — Trump wins Idaho (4).

11:06 p.m. — Clinton wins Oregon (7).

11:11 p.m. — Trump wins North Carolina (15).

11:30 p.m. — Clinton wins Washington (12).

11:33 p.m. — Trump wins Georgia (16).

11:53 p.m. — Trump wins Utah (6).

12:02 a.m. — Trump wins Iowa (6).

12:21 a.m. — Clinton wins Nevada (6).

1:36 a.m. — Trump wins Pennsylvania (20).

2 a.m. — John Podesta, Clinton campaign manager, announced that Clinton would not be speaking that evening about the election.

2:30 a.m. — Trump wins Wisconsin (10), and gets enough electoral votes to secure the presidency.

2:45 a.m. — Trump speaks at campaign headquarters, thanking those who helped with the campaign. He talked about the need for the nation to come together regardless of party lines in the coming years. “It was my honor, it was an amazing evening, it’s been an amazing two-year period, and I love this country,” he said.

11:14 a.m. — Clinton wins Minnesota (10). 

12 p.m. — Trump wins Alaska (3). 

At the time of publication, New Hampshire, Michigan, Wisconsin, Arizona and Alaska had not yet reported. Spinnaker will update the story as that information becomes available.

For more information or news tips, or if you see an error in this story or have any compliments or concerns, contact [email protected].

Leave a Comment
More to Discover

Comments (0)

Spinnaker intends for this area to be used to foster healthy, thought-provoking discussion. Comments are expected to adhere to our standards and to be respectful and constructive. As such, we do not permit the use of profanity, foul language, personal attacks, slurs, defamation, or the use of language that might be interpreted as libelous. Comments are reviewed and will be removed if they do not adhere to these standards. Spinnaker does not allow anonymous comments, and Spinnaker requires a valid email address. The email address will not be displayed but will be used to confirm your comments.
All UNF Spinnaker Picks Reader Picks Sort: Newest

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *