UNF's #1 Student-Run News Source

UNF Spinnaker

UNF's #1 Student-Run News Source

UNF Spinnaker

UNF's #1 Student-Run News Source

UNF Spinnaker

Unofficial fall election results: Red Party wins 19 Senate seats, Yellow Party lands 1

Photo by Connor Spielmaker
Joel Versace, chair of the Student Government Elections and Appointment Committee, releases the unofficial results for the fall elections Oct. 25.

With more than 3,400 votes cast, the Red Party swept the Senate elections Oct. 23-24, taking 19 seats, according to the unofficial election results announced today in the Senate Chambers.

The Yellow Party secured one seat, according to the unofficial results.

Four senators won through acclimation, meaning there was no one opposing force running against them. These senators are Steven Anderson, William Tutwiler, Jenny Morris and Adah Shair.

The general senators elected are Red Party Sens. Ryan Traher, Dylan Farrell, Meghan Cunningham, Corey Amira, Monica Bowman, Robin Brown, Heather Deyarmin, Bryan Jones, Crystal Pino, Morgan Wolf, Tyler Stovall, Jon Mack, Laudelino Garcia, Anthony Grego, Justin Turner, Jake Marshall, Nathanael Mercado, Shomari Gloster, Collin Waychoff and Yellow Party Sen. Yousra Hebeishy.

Traher, a UNF communication junior, won with the highest number of votes. He said one of the first issues Student Government will tackle is the universal scantron policy, an issue he said has received much feedback and excitement from students.

Traher said his party’s biggest initiative is its opposition to all tuition increases. He said the party lets students know they are willing to go to to Tallahassee and let the legislative know their opposition.

Hebeishy said she was satisfied with the results because her party’s goal was to give students a choice, which she feels was accomplished.

The three bills on the ballot all passed. These bills were correcting grammatical errors in the Constitution and permitting nonsubstantial changes to the Constitution without consent of the student body, putting the position of associate chief justice in the Constitution and positioning the spot intern chief justice in the case of an absence, and allowing only graduate students to vote for Graduate Seats 41 and 42.

Email Noor Ashouri at [email protected].

Leave a Comment
More to Discover

Comments (0)

Spinnaker intends for this area to be used to foster healthy, thought-provoking discussion. Comments are expected to adhere to our standards and to be respectful and constructive. As such, we do not permit the use of profanity, foul language, personal attacks, slurs, defamation, or the use of language that might be interpreted as libelous. Comments are reviewed and will be removed if they do not adhere to these standards. Spinnaker does not allow anonymous comments, and Spinnaker requires a valid email address. The email address will not be displayed but will be used to confirm your comments.
All UNF Spinnaker Picks Reader Picks Sort: Newest

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *