2018 Hall of Fame class announced

DeAndre Pearson

The North Florida Athletic Department will induct four standout athletes and a prodigious men’s tennis team into the 2018 Athletic Hall of Fame.

“The Hall of Fame reception has become a very special part of Homecoming festivities at UNF,” said UNF Athletic Director Lee Moon. “Our alumni and friends of the athletic program look forward to the event that provides us the opportunity to recognize and honor the greats from the past.”

The 2018 UNF Athletic Hall class inductees include Cynthia Basler, Todd Dunn, Terri Moo-Young, Mike Wacholz and the 1992-93 men’s tennis team.

Cynthia Basler participated in the women’s tennis team from 1986-87. Basler is a two-time Intercollegiate Tennis Association (ITA) All-American (1986-87). She won UNF Sportswoman of the Year in 1987, and was a member of the UNF’s 1986 National Championship team.   

Todd Dunn was a part of the baseball team from 1991-93. Dunn earned the National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) All-American and All-Area honors in 1993. That same year, he was named District 7 Player of the Year and All-District. Dunn finished his career in Top 10 rankings for: triples, home runs, on-base percentage, slugging percentage, games started and games played. Dunn also posted Top 10 marks in slugging percentage, and home runs.

Terri Moo-Young participated in the women’s soccer team from 1998 to 2001. Moo-Young was the Peach Belt Conference Player of the Year (2001) and earned All Southeast Region 1st Team (2001) and 2nd team honors (1999). Moo-Young finished her career as the program’s all-time leader in goals (49), assists (32), and points (130).

Mike Wacholz competed in men’s track and field as well as men’s cross country in 1984. Waholz competed in the 1,500 meter, 5000 meter, and the marathon, which is around 26.2 miles. Wacholz became the UNF’s first honoree in any sport when he was named National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIA) All-American in Cross-Country in 1984.  

The 1992-93 men’s tennis team featured Adam Kework, Tomas Jedlik, Philippe Dore, Casey Cleveland, Danny Witt, Jay Sampselle, Ola Wallander, Brian Zwicker, Kris Gouin, Judd Rhodes and Jeff Short. Under the guidance of Head Coach Charley Jenks, the tennis team finished their season with an impressive 19-5 record, and finished runner-up at the 1993 NAIA National Championship.

“The selection committee again did another outstanding job in selecting a class that represents and reflects the successes of Osprey Athletics,” Moon said. “We are excited to be welcoming back to campus the honorees, alumni and fans this memorable event.” 

The 2018 UNF Athletic Hall of Fame Class induction ceremony and reception is scheduled for Feb. 17 at 10:30 a.m. in the Student Union Ballroom.


For more information or news tips, or if you see an error in this story or have any compliments or concerns, contact [email protected].