All party-affiliated candidates win seats in UNF Senate, according to unofficial election results

Marissa Cannegieter, Government Reporter

The University of North Florida Student Government’s first contested election in two years is over. All 20 of the candidates who ran with a party have unofficially won seats in Senate, according to the unofficial election results released Wednesday evening. 

A total of 23 candidates competed for the Senate’s 20 available seats. Ten ran with the Unity Party, 10 ran with the Soar Party and three ran as independents. All candidates but the three independents won seats. 

The logo of UNF Student Government's Office of Elections.
The logo of UNF Student Government’s Office of Elections.

John Grosso and Emily Sullivan, who ran uncontested, have unofficially been elected student body president and student body vice president respectively. Of the total 534 ballots that were cast this election, they received 473 votes.

With a student population of 16,517 as of the Fall 2022 semester, approximately 3% of UNF students participated in this election. 

Next steps

These results are unofficial and the election process will continue once all judicial complaints have been resolved. A hearing for the judicial complaint made against Soar Party chair Sullivan will be held next Wednesday. 

Once Senate passes the Validation Bill for the election, candidates will be sworn in and begin their terms. 

The following candidates have unofficially won a Senate seat, according to the SG Office of Election results. View the full results here

  • Ethan Schultz
  • Kayla Cintron
  • Fadi Nakhel
  • Kyriakos Faklis
  • Joehan Pastrana
  • Alden Kliem
  • Faith Peeler
  • Isabella West
  • Akintonye Oyedola
  • William Schwocho
  • Mitchell Aarons
  • Gabi Bynum
  • Tanesha Jackson
  • Karena Lopez
  • Lamjia Hodzic
  • Lissie Morales
  • Erin Dean 
  • Emily Roles
  • Joshua Murry
  • Aster Walters


For more information or news tips, or if you see an error in this story or have any compliments or concerns, contact [email protected].