Cross country wins big in ASUN Championships

Ronnie Rodgers

Brad Hort. Photo courtesy Brad Hort
Brad Hort. Photo courtesy Brad Hort

The men’s and women’s cross country teams both earned accolades during the 2016 ASUN cross country championship.

The men’s team dominated the standings with Ospreys taking four of the five top spots. Nick Morken and Brad Hort had first and second finishes. North Florida knocked off defending champion Lipscomb to earn its first ever title.

Morken, a redshirt sophomore, won runner of the year.

Head Coach, Jeff Pigg was awarded the ASUN Men’s Cross Country Coach of the Year. Pigg has been with UNF since 2012.

Eden Meyer, for the women’s side, was the first Osprey to earn an ASUN championship medalist. Meyer earned ASUN runner of the year. During her career, she was awarded the runner of the week four times.

The women’s team came in third place overall.    

North Florida heads to the NCAA South Regional on Nov.11 in Tallahassee.


For more information or news tips, or if you see an error in this story or have any compliments or concerns, contact [email protected].