Here’s what you need to know about what’s in store for Marvel Phase 4

Erik Feliciano

With another year of Comic-Con coming to a close and with Phase 3 of the MCU closing out with “Spider-Man: Far From Home,” we collectively look to the future of Marvel’s MCU. On Saturday, July 20, Marvel held a panel at San Diego Comic Con teasing what that future might look like.

“Black Widow”

The first film to kick of phase 4 of the MCU is “Black Widow,” starring Scarlett Johansson, David Harbour, Florence Pugh, O-T Fagbenle, and Rachel Weosz and directed by Cate Shortland. “Black Widow” will act as a prequel to “Avengers: Infinity War,” meaning it takes place after the events of “Captain America: Civil War.”” Black Widow” will hit theaters May 1, 2020.


“The Falcon and the Winter Soldier”

“The Falcon and the Winter Soldier” is an original series starring Anthony Mackie, Sebastian Stan, and Daniel Brühl. You will be able to stream the series exclusively on the new streaming service Disney+ in the fall of 2020.


“The Eternals”

“The Eternals” is the next big cosmic film in the MCU. It stars Angelina Jolie, Richard Madden, Kumail Nanjiani, Lauren Ridloff, Brian Tyree Henry, Salma Hayek, Lia McHugh, and Don Lee. It will be directed by Chloé Zhao. “The Eternals” will premiere November 6, 2020.


“Shang-Chi and the Legend of the Ten Rings”

“Shang-Chi” stars Simu Liu as Shang-Chi, Awkwafina, and Tony Leung, and is directed by Destin Daniel Cretton. “Shang-Chi” will hit theaters February 12, 2021.



“WandaVision” is another series that will be exclusive to the Disney+ platform. “WandaVison” takes place after the events of “Avengers: Endgame,” starring Elisabeth Olsen as Wanda Maximoff and Paul Bettany as Vision. “WandaVision” will begin streaming in Spring of 2021.



“Loki” is an original series starring Tom Hiddleston that will begin airing in the spring of 2021 exclusively on Disney+.


“Doctor Strange in the Multiverse of Madness”

The next “Doctor Strange” film will star Benedict Cumberbatch as Steven Strange and Elizabeth Olsen as Wanda Maximoff. Scott Derrickson returns as director. “Doctor Strange in the Multiverse of Madness” will premiere on May 7, 2021.


“What If…?”

“What if…?” is the first animated film in the MCU and will deal with stories of things that could have happened but didn’t in the Marvel Cinematic Universe. Many actors across the MCU will reprise their roles in this series with Jeffrey Wright as the voice of The Watcher. “What if…?” will start streaming exclusively on Disney+ in summer 2021.



“Hawkeye” is an original series starring Jeremy Renner as Clint Barton, aka Hawkeye, and will introduce Kate Bishop, the third person to take up the mantle of Hawkeye in the comics. “Hawkeye” will begin streaming exclusively on Disney+, fall 2021.


“Thor: Love and Thunder”

This film will star both Chris Hemsworth and Natalie Portman as Thor! Tessa Thompson will be returning as Valkyrie. Taika Waititi returns as director. “Thor: Love and Thunder” will be in theaters November 5, 2021.


Before the panel went to a complete close, Kevin Feigei had a few last things to say which teased the future of the MCU beyond phase 4. Some of these teases included “Fantastic 4,” the X-men and last but not least “Blade,” with Mahershala Ali taking to the stage and sharing his involvement in the film although no writers or directors are attached to the film as of yet.


For more information or news tips, or if you see an error in this story or have any compliments or concerns, contact [email protected]