Five Ospreys honored with ASUN Baseball postseason awards

Drew McDonald, Sports Editor

After finishing their regular season up, five Ospreys brought home the hardware with ASUN Baseball postseason awards.

Brett Nweeia
Junior David Maberry awaits the pitch.

Senior Brad Depperman won Pitcher of the Year and was named to the First Team All-ASUN after leading the conference in ERA (2.09) and strikeouts (104).

Junior Tanner Murphy was named the ASUN Scholar-Athlete of the Year and made the First Team All-ASUN after sporting a .297 batting average and leading the ASUN in stolen bases (19). Murphy also earned a 3.9 GPA in the classroom.

Senior Jay Prather was named to the First Team All-ASUN after hitting .315 and only made three errors throughout the whole entire season. One of Prather’s dynamic plays at second earned him a spot on ESPN SportCenter’s Top 10 this season.

ASUN Newcomer Junior David Maberry has been a driving force in conference play, earning himself a spot on the Second Team All-ASUN. Maberry racked up 36 RBI’s and finished seventh in the ASUN with a .324 batting average.

Senior Nick Marchese rounds out the list of honorees as he was named to the Second Team All-ASUN after finishing with a 6-0 record on the mound and recorded a 3.01 ERA.


For more information or news tips, or if you see an error in this story or have any compliments or concerns, contact [email protected].